OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Sync Sl5500 With Suse 9.1?
byhoe
post Dec 9 2004, 05:48 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-December 04
Member No.: 5,864



Hi,

I have searched the Google Groups but only found two related threads. They are
helpless to my problem. I can't find anything on this forum. Please help.

I am not able to sync my Sharp Zaurus SL-5500,ROM v2.38 with my SuSE
9.1 with Qtopia Desktop 1.7.0.

Do I need to install usbdnet? Where can I download and how to install?

Whenever I start qtopiadesktop from console, I get this error message:

"initEnvironment() Invalid TimeZone (null)"

The Sync button and the sync options in the menu are disabled.

I tried the :Trouble-shooting USB connections" in QtopiaDesktop
manual:

1.Ensure the kernel service "USBD Network (Encapsulated) Host-to-Host
Link" is installed (as a module, this is "usbdnet").

2.Ensure the USB networking provided by this module is configued, with
"ifconfig usb0 192.168.129.200 netmask 255.255.255.255".

3.Ensure there is a route to the PDA on the USB network, with "route
add -host 192.168.129.201 usb0".

I tried the above without the usbdnet installed and dmesg gives the
following:

usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using address 4
usb 1-1: Product: SL Series
usb 1-1: Manufacturer: Sharp
usb0: register usbnet at usb-0000:00:02.0-1, Sharp Zaurus SL-5x00
usbcore: registered new driver usbnet
usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 4
usb0: unregister usbnet usb-0000:00:02.0-1, Sharp Zaurus SL-5x00
usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using address 5
usb 1-1: Product: SL Series
usb 1-1: Manufacturer: Sharp
usb0: register usbnet at usb-0000:00:02.0-1, Sharp Zaurus SL-5x00
usb0: no IPv6 routers present

It looks like SuSE 9.1 recognized SL5500. But the connection could not be established.

Please help.

Thank you.
--
Adrian Hoe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pcghost
post Dec 9 2004, 08:16 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 18-December 03
From: Cheney, Washington USA
Member No.: 1,230



Try this howto. Nothing has changed for 9.1 or 9.2 as far as the Z is concerned. It is still detected as a modem. As long as you don't upgrade your rom you should be fine. Personally I would say ditch Qtopia desktop and check out the embedded-KDE-pims at pi-sync.net.

Suse - Zaurus howto
http://wptl12.physik.uni-wuppertal.de/zaurus/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cyphactor
post Dec 31 2004, 06:16 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-October 04
Member No.: 5,123



Why mess with your Zaurus when there is a perfect tool out there for you that allows synchronization with Linux.

http://zsrep.sourceforge.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 04:22 AM