OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Firmware update
zottel
post Jan 18 2020, 11:55 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 14-December 19
Member No.: 861,325



I received an update yesterday and installed it without problems. I didn't find anything that changed yet, not even the Android security patch level, so I guess it's mainly about the fix for the backdoor? No cover display update this time, either.

As nobody has written about it here yet and it's also still not mentioned on the support website, I'm beginning to feel a bit strange, though. Did anybody else receive the update, or does anybody know more about it?

I have Android build number Cosmo-9.0-Planet-01182020-V19 now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
plutopants
post Jan 19 2020, 12:28 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 18-February 18
Member No.: 817,962



QUOTE(zottel @ Jan 19 2020, 07:55 AM) *
I received an update yesterday and installed it without problems. I didn't find anything that changed yet, not even the Android security patch level, so I guess it's mainly about the fix for the backdoor? No cover display update this time, either.

As nobody has written about it here yet and it's also still not mentioned on the support website, I'm beginning to feel a bit strange, though. Did anybody else receive the update, or does anybody know more about it?

I have Android build number Cosmo-9.0-Planet-01182020-V19 now.


Yes, I got the WiFi update yesterday too.

I am not worried - just a maintenance update, which I was expecting considering the recent holes identified.

I suspect another larger update will follow eventually. I think you may be right assuming it's to cover the backdoor.
But...
A bit of reassurance from someone at Planet might be a good idea, considering how negative one or two individuals are apparently being, especially in the Indigogo website - a situation which does not seem to be solving itself yet.

Here's hoping we get updated by @PC swiftly to avoid any unnecessary confusion.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vistaus
post Jan 19 2020, 03:06 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 24-June 19
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 850,627



@plutopants Planet commented yesterday on IGG that they will push a CoDi update tomorrow (Monday), so I expect a campaign update tomorrow with a changelog for both the firmware and CoDi update.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dickon Hood
post Jan 19 2020, 04:02 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 7-December 19
From: Home
Member No.: 860,798



The IGG negativity has died down a lot since devices started seriously shipping beyond Japan. It's mostly down to around half a dozen people now, who do seem to have been left at the back of the queue for some reason.

I've had mine since late November, and I have to say I love it. It's an excellent device.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Elevennails
post Jan 19 2020, 04:44 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 18-January 20
Member No.: 863,967



QUOTE(zottel @ Jan 18 2020, 11:55 PM) *
I received an update yesterday and installed it without problems. I didn't find anything that changed yet, not even the Android security patch level, so I guess it's mainly about the fix for the backdoor? No cover display update this time, either.

As nobody has written about it here yet and it's also still not mentioned on the support website, I'm beginning to feel a bit strange, though. Did anybody else receive the update, or does anybody know more about it?

I have Android build number Cosmo-9.0-Planet-01182020-V19 now.


I also had the update yesterday. The only change I think I can see is that I don't appear to be able to get to the recover boot menu. It now seems to go into safe mode instead.

Power on <esc> fingerprint toggle <button> down. Unless I'm doing this wrong. I'm sure I used to get a recovery menu.

Was hoping. To be able to resize partitions ready for debian. So I can start using the driod partition without worrying about reinstallimg or loosing my driod data later. Guess I'll have to be more patient
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jan 19 2020, 05:07 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 171
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(Elevennails @ Jan 19 2020, 04:44 AM) *
Was hoping. To be able to resize partitions ready for debian. So I can start using the driod partition without worrying about reinstallimg or loosing my driod data later. Guess I'll have to be more patient

Also waiting for the partition tool to perform a "real" setup, for the same reason Might be there soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PNuT
post Jan 19 2020, 05:54 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 6-December 19
Member No.: 860,784



I resized mine earlier!

FN+ESC+ Right side of rocker switch to get the recovery menu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zottel
post Jan 19 2020, 11:26 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 14-December 19
Member No.: 861,325



I just found out that changing volume on a BT device now changes the volume in Android, too. That didn't work correctly before. I hope that also means that there will be no BT stuttering anymore.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eicosateroid
post Jan 19 2020, 12:17 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-June 19
From: Germany, Munich
Member No.: 850,526



What I could see is that the Cover Display is way quicker regarding response time and these random quirks like display stuck, indicates no WiFi but there is WiFi, etc. (have all been reported already, nothing new) are completely gone now. It just works flawless. And also, but that is a very far fetched assumption, the scroll experience in Android feels smoother. Maybe my mind makes it up or other updates to my rice are the reason. But since this morning it has been a more refined experience.

CoDi:
V1.1.1.12
Build:
Cosmo-9.0-01182020-V19
Bustom Build Version:
alps-mp-p0.mp1-V5.117
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dickon Hood
post Jan 19 2020, 12:35 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 7-December 19
From: Home
Member No.: 860,798



Oooh. You seem to be right about the CoDi being more responsive. I hadn't noticed; it's been almost unusable for me.

It'll be interesting to see what the update to that brings, allegedly tomorrow.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Elevennails
post Jan 19 2020, 03:30 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 18-January 20
Member No.: 863,967



QUOTE(PNuT @ Jan 19 2020, 05:54 AM) *
I resized mine earlier!

FN+ESC+ Right side of rocker switch to get the recovery menu



Thanks PNuT that worked I've resized smile.gif at least I can use Droid now smile.gif hopefully the debian img will come soon smile.gif

Here's how i did it

From Off.

ESC (poweron) + rear rocker (top... volume up). Let go of power when Planet logo displays.

Driod pic on it's back. With Red triangle warning. Words "No Command" in really small letters underneath

Now

Fn+ESC+Rear rocker (Volume up)

Now we are in the recovery menu. Resize away smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jan 19 2020, 04:11 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 171
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(Elevennails @ Jan 19 2020, 03:30 PM) *
QUOTE(PNuT @ Jan 19 2020, 05:54 AM) *
I resized mine earlier!

FN+ESC+ Right side of rocker switch to get the recovery menu



Thanks PNuT that worked I've resized smile.gif at least I can use Droid now smile.gif hopefully the debian img will come soon smile.gif

Here's how i did it

From Off.

ESC (poweron) + rear rocker (top... volume up). Let go of power when Planet logo displays.

Driod pic on it's back. With Red triangle warning. Words "No Command" in really small letters underneath

Now

Fn+ESC+Rear rocker (Volume up)

Now we are in the recovery menu. Resize away smile.gif


Well, this way we get to a menu allowing to repartition. It says all data will be lost. So I aborted for now, since I don't know how to reinstall the OS afterwards (without downloadable images). Any hints on how to get at least Android up again after repartitioning? Or don't we loose the OS with the resize?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PNuT
post Jan 19 2020, 07:30 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 6-December 19
Member No.: 860,784



QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jan 20 2020, 12:11 AM) *
Well, this way we get to a menu allowing to repartition. It says all data will be lost. So I aborted for now, since I don't know how to reinstall the OS afterwards (without downloadable images). Any hints on how to get at least Android up again after repartitioning? Or don't we loose the OS with the resize?


Mine just performed a factory reset with no need to reinstall android.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mithrandir
post Jan 20 2020, 12:49 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 171
Joined: 7-January 18
Member No.: 815,997



QUOTE(PNuT @ Jan 19 2020, 07:30 PM) *
QUOTE(mithrandir @ Jan 20 2020, 12:11 AM) *
Well, this way we get to a menu allowing to repartition. It says all data will be lost. So I aborted for now, since I don't know how to reinstall the OS afterwards (without downloadable images). Any hints on how to get at least Android up again after repartitioning? Or don't we loose the OS with the resize?


Mine just performed a factory reset with no need to reinstall android.

Thx. This is the information I have been seeking for. So this evening I can start setting up droid properly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rod The DBA
post Jan 20 2020, 09:22 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-January 20
Member No.: 863,943



My Cosmo isn't finding a new firmware update, it found and upgraded the CODI firmware but not the main one.

It's currently on version Cosmo-9.0-Planet-10292019-V15 and CODI version V1.1.1.12.

Does anyone know if Planet have a download to manually upgrade? I've had a look http://support.planetcom.co.uk but can't see anything.

I love the Cosmo it's a great evolution over the Gemini.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th April 2020 - 02:40 PM