OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Enlightenment Dr17 - Cvs, HowTo
miskinis
post Mar 14 2006, 06:06 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



QUOTE(benplaut @ Mar 15 2006, 12:17 AM)
AFAIK, the main dev of E, Rasterman, has a Z or two, and uses E on them. I'm not sure if it's with pdaXrom.


Hi,

I spoke to "Raster" yesterday, and mentioned I was setting up my SL-6000 with e17
again, and asked him if he still uses his Zaurus. Unfortunately he said he does not
have the time these days, but I know for certain that it was pdaXrom he used to use
months ago.

I toyed with that "later" release that was mentioned above last night for several hours,
and it was greatly improved from the earlier version. There is a configuration panel
in the newer release to aid setup. Also, it took me a while to find out how to move the
various "modules" like ibar, ibox, etc.. In the earlier release you could hold ALT and
"click/hold" anywhere on the background screen, and then release ALT and the
resize handles would appear. In the newer release, you use the menu and
select "gagets->edit mode" and toggle it on/off.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mrbisme33
post Jun 26 2006, 11:07 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 25-June 06
Member No.: 10,245



So yeah, still new to this and I tried loading this on the beta 4 release. I ran into trouble after I thought I was being slick by creating a separate user to use e17. Bottom line is, I messed up and no longer have the original .xinitrc or /usr/bin/fbpanel-session ohmy.gif . Could someone please post the original .xinitrc for beta 4? I'll be more careful in the future.

Thanks,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Jun 26 2006, 11:09 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(miskinis @ Mar 15 2006, 02:06 AM)
QUOTE(benplaut @ Mar 15 2006, 12:17 AM)
AFAIK, the main dev of E, Rasterman, has a Z or two, and uses E on them. I'm not sure if it's with pdaXrom.


Hi,

I spoke to "Raster" yesterday, and mentioned I was setting up my SL-6000 with e17
again, and asked him if he still uses his Zaurus. Unfortunately he said he does not
have the time these days, but I know for certain that it was pdaXrom he used to use
months ago.
*



I think you're wrong, since raster contributed to OE and other e17 developers as well. So that means he was using OZ smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post Jun 26 2006, 12:27 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



QUOTE(koen @ Jun 26 2006, 07:09 PM)
I think you're wrong, since raster contributed to OE and other e17 developers as well. So that means he was using OZ smile.gif


You can "think" what you want. At the time we spoke he used pdaXrom. He did use
OZ at some points in time, but not when we spoke. A couple minutes of searching
turned up the following.

[00:39] <raster> i have cross-compiled using openembedded, pdaxrom and handhelds.org's cross-dev tools before without hassles
[00:39] <raster> all the autotools stuff worked once you set up the environment variables right

[ from http://open.neurosaudio.com/irclogs/neuros-2006-05-13.html ]

If you want to take this further go to the #edevelop IRC channel, ask him, and post
the results. Or find the IRC log from #edevelop which will not bother him.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daalnroti
post Jul 2 2006, 04:14 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 14-November 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 8,535



Here a little notice for those who run E17 on their Zaurus:

Uman updated his E17 feed (CVS snapshot from 20060627)

Uman's E17 Feed

(Instructions on using E17 can be found in this thread or on uman's page.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w14
post Jul 2 2006, 12:00 PM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 180
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,049



E won't start for me since upgrading to this version. I get a white screen with a short black line coming up from the bottom of the screen.

The only error I'm seeing is:

"The locale 'C' cannot be found on your system. Please install this locale or try something else"

X runs ok, and I can launch the default windowmanager etc.

Anyone any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daalnroti
post Jul 6 2006, 01:21 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 14-November 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 8,535



Sorry for the delay,

uman's current e17 build (029), which was updated yesterday, works fine under beta4 here.
don't forget to install libiconv, which isn't installed automaticly since it isn't in the offical feed anymore.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dobby
post Aug 22 2006, 04:59 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 20-July 06
Member No.: 10,467



Got E17 running on a brand new pdaxrom install using the full pack from Uman. I got some install errors though. At the end. Something about file name too short when trying to do the iconv stuff if I recall. I think it may be why the taskbar doesn't quite look right (empty cutout box in center and icons to the right partially covered by the cutout box).

Otherwise looks really nice. Only other problem I have is that the touch is screen is not quite calibrated correctly. There is no /etc/pointercal so I'm a bit stuck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Aug 22 2006, 05:18 AM
Post #39





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



Are you saying that is doesnt use pointercal? or there isn't one created yet?

do a startx and login to matchbox to create one... log out and launch E17 again...

Late

Nevermind... E17 doesnt create its own laucher, you have to edit the orginal startx, so unless you backed up your orginal startx, you wont be able to use my suggestion

This post has been edited by InSearchOf: Aug 22 2006, 05:22 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dobby
post Aug 22 2006, 06:15 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 20-July 06
Member No.: 10,467



yea exactly. I removed matchbox rolleyes.gif

Probably need to do a startx before installing e17. But as pointercal is not there shouldn't it prompt for screen calibration?

Be a problem if you needed to recalibrate. Maybe there's an app?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Aug 22 2006, 07:56 AM
Post #41





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



Here you go

CODE
# /usr/bin/ts_calibrate



But this should be in your startx

CODE
if [ ! -f /etc/pointercal ]; then
   sudo /usr/bin/ts_calibrate
fi




Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dobby
post Aug 22 2006, 08:24 AM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 20-July 06
Member No.: 10,467



well that did the trick except that after running through the calibration routine the screen went blank and I needed to reset (probably because I ran the command in e17 ). After that it was fine though so it did calibrate. Thanks.

Looking nice. Do people use this gui on a regular basis. Is it stable yet?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Aug 22 2006, 08:33 AM
Post #43





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



Well... I'm going to try it today... I may have to leave XFCE... prolly not... but it is worth a try...

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karlto
post Aug 22 2006, 12:10 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 343
Joined: 3-October 05
From: NZ
Member No.: 8,243



QUOTE(Dobby @ Aug 23 2006, 05:24 AM)
Looking nice. Do people use this gui on a regular basis. Is it stable yet?
*

I used it for a bit before I decided I liked xfce better - never had any stability problems while running, but every now and then it would refuse to start. I always attributed this to the fact that I have it installed on CF, rather than in internal memory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dobby
post Aug 22 2006, 12:19 PM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 20-July 06
Member No.: 10,467



Well I've decided against keeping it on my Z. It's really nice looking but to be honest slows things down a bit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 09:03 AM