OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Oz 3.5.4.1 Installation On Akita Failed
asti
post May 18 2006, 01:34 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 9,896



Hello all,

I am a stupid newbie with a new Akita and wanted to try OZ 3.5.4.1 on it. I downloaded several files and tried it with them (Hentges as well as from ewi site).
But after flashing the Zaurus reboots and brings a lot (~100) error messages with the following content:

...
JFFS2error: (1) jffs2_build_inode_pass1: child dir "bin" (ino #1664) of dir ino #1663 appears to be a hard link
...

The "bin" and #1664 / #1663 are examples, there are different names (e.g. pics) and different numbers in each error line. At the end only the following error is to be seen:

...
Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init=option to kernel.
...

I have some little experiences with flashing of CackoRom 1.23 and it is always possible to flash it again with this Rom. That´s why I think it is not a SD Card problem - I tried two different (Sandisk 512 and Panasonic 1024).

Does anybody have an idea whats going wrong here or - most likely - what am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

asti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post May 18 2006, 02:05 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,366
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poland
Member No.: 1,413



did you resized flash when installed Cacko? If yes then do nand restore and then install OZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 18 2006, 02:09 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,512
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



The first bit looks like standard jffs2 errors, the second part looks like you've not managed to flash the initrd.bin file correctly.

What instructions did you use, what were the filenames, and did you check the md5sums?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asti
post May 18 2006, 02:32 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 9,896



QUOTE(Hrw @ May 18 2006, 12:05 PM)
did you resized flash when installed Cacko? If yes then do nand restore and then install OZ
*


Yes, I guess I resized the flash. The install instructions from Cacko say: Select 1 Resize Root partition. Type 32. I am not sure but I think that means resizing the flash.
I will try the nand restore when I am back at home.


QUOTE(lardman @ May 18 2006, 12:09 PM)
The first bit looks like standard jffs2 errors, the second part looks like you've not managed to flash the initrd.bin file correctly.

What instructions did you use, what were the filenames, and did you check the md5sums?

Si
*


I used no further instructions - just the install tutorial how to flash it. The file names were the recommended ones , zImage.bin, initrd.bin, update.sh.
I did not check the MD5 sum because I don´t know how unsure.gif Normally I work on a Windows PC with Firefox and other standard tools - but I want to learn more about Linux, especially the embedded versions. Which tools can check MD5 sums under W XP?

Greetings from Dresden,

asti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 18 2006, 03:18 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,512
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
I did not check the MD5 sum because I don´t know how unsure.gif Normally I work on a Windows PC with Firefox and other standard tools - but I want to learn more about Linux, especially the embedded versions. Which tools can check MD5 sums under W XP?


First hit on google for "md5sum" wink.gif

http://www.etree.org/md5com.html


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asti
post May 18 2006, 11:02 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 9,896



Good evening,

Thanks for the hints. Now I am a little step further (correct english? :-)

First of all I made a NAND restore, that took me 15 minutes and everything seemed to be ok.
Then I checked the MD5 sums which were also ok, thanks for the link, now I know how to use it.

I started the OZ install with these files:
http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/Akita/

Well, I saw the "do_not_use" in the url but thought I give it a try since I did not find other files from Hentges (I wanted to install a german gpe).

I renamed
hentges-gpe-image-akita_T1-RC4.tar.gz --> initrd.bin
zImage-2.6.16-akita-20060410041539.bin --> zImage.bin
and left updater.sh with the original name.
Everything was copied onto a Panasonic SD 1GB Pro High Speed and I started to flash the Akita.
After every action the Akita made a "successful" message came and then the Zaurus rebooted automatically into the error:
...
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(31,2)
...
And nothing more happened. huh.gif

Does anybody have an idea about this? I checked other threads too and found a trick to remove the SD - same result.

I really would appreciate any help on this. So if you have an idea what to try now - please help. Maybe you know a better url with newer files (and if possible a german gpe)?
Thanks in advance and greetings from Dresden.

asti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asti
post May 18 2006, 11:44 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 9,896



Resolved.
The used files were too old maybe. I tried it with the "normal" RC2 files and everything works. Even in german (at least part of gpe, not all), which I did not know.

Thanks for your support, until my next problem ;-)

asti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 19 2006, 01:27 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,512
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Actually, it wasn't your fault, the files you were trying to use were not supposed to be flashed (afaict). They are for the altboot system.

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post May 29 2006, 05:37 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



asti, so did you managed to get it installed? I tried hentges oz3.5.4.1 /gpe yesterday night on my akita and managed to get it running.

I got my files from:

initrd.bin --> http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/Akita/he...a_T1-RC4.tar.gz
zImage.bin --> http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/Akita/ke...60410041539.bin
updater.sh --> http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/Akita/updater.sh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omro
post May 30 2006, 10:45 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 796
Joined: 28-May 04
Member No.: 3,474



Hope you got it going. I got it going on my C1000 and the flash resize from Cacko was definitely the cause of my issues.

You say:

QUOTE
I renamed
hentges-gpe-image-akita_T1-RC4.tar.gz --> initrd.bin


I untarred the tar.gz file and then renamed it and that worked for me, if that helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asti
post Jun 2 2006, 11:27 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 9,896



Thanks for your great support, but in the meantime I installed a Cacko again because I need the Z not only for playing :-) (and I have really rare time since I have three little children)

But when there will be a regular release I´ll give it a next try.
Thanks so far!

asti
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alee16
post Jun 29 2006, 05:24 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,009



QUOTE(asti @ Jun 2 2006, 03:27 PM)
Thanks for your great support, but in the meantime I installed a Cacko again because I need the Z not only for playing :-)  (and I have really rare time since I have three little children)

But when there will be a regular release I´ll give it a next try.
Thanks so far!

asti
*


Is Nand restore a menu item (in the "failsafe" menu), or do you have to restore an original backup, because I can't find my original backup sad.gif ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreDump
post Jun 29 2006, 09:53 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



QUOTE(alee16 @ Jun 29 2006, 03:24 PM)
QUOTE(asti @ Jun 2 2006, 03:27 PM)
Thanks for your great support, but in the meantime I installed a Cacko again because I need the Z not only for playing :-)  (and I have really rare time since I have three little children)

But when there will be a regular release I´ll give it a next try.
Thanks so far!

asti
*


Is Nand restore a menu item (in the "failsafe" menu), or do you have to restore an original backup, because I can't find my original backup sad.gif ?
*



A NAND restore is indeed done by using the maintenance aka service menu.
You can learn more about restoring a NAND backup here: http://trisoft.de/en_c1000howto.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th February 2020 - 04:50 PM