OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> GSM-calls?, Is there a linux program for it?
LinuxGuy
post Mar 26 2020, 12:47 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 2-January 20
Member No.: 862,679



Hi

now, as Linux has access to the sim - is there a program which can be used for ordinary pone calls/sms via GSM, like the phone app in Android? No VoIP or sip etc, of course.

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
suhrm
post Mar 27 2020, 05:59 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-December 19
Member No.: 861,381



Hi,

Have you been able to use the modem in Linux? I have not had any luck even finding it using tools like modem-manager etc.

With regards to applications there should be an ubuntu-phone application called dialer-app.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mibry
post Mar 27 2020, 07:16 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 18-May 18
Member No.: 822,788



QUOTE(suhrm @ Mar 27 2020, 01:59 PM) *
Hi,

Have you been able to use the modem in Linux? I have not had any luck even finding it using tools like modem-manager etc.

With regards to applications there should be an ubuntu-phone application called dialer-app.


Have you recompiled the kernel? I think the kernel might not include the modem at present I haven't had a look myself. Have you checked dmesg for the modem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mibry
post Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 18-May 18
Member No.: 822,788



QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 03:16 PM) *
QUOTE(suhrm @ Mar 27 2020, 01:59 PM) *
Hi,

Have you been able to use the modem in Linux? I have not had any luck even finding it using tools like modem-manager etc.

With regards to applications there should be an ubuntu-phone application called dialer-app.


Have you recompiled the kernel? I think the kernel might not include the modem at present I haven't had a look myself. Have you checked dmesg for the modem?


From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxGuy
post Apr 3 2020, 11:23 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 2-January 20
Member No.: 862,679



Hi to all

QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM) *
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
suhrm
post Apr 7 2020, 05:36 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-December 19
Member No.: 861,381



QUOTE(LinuxGuy @ Apr 4 2020, 08:23 AM) *
Hi to all

QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM) *
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!


After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL etc. is limited.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Apr 7 2020, 08:56 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 7 2020, 05:36 AM) *
QUOTE(LinuxGuy @ Apr 4 2020, 08:23 AM) *
Hi to all

QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM) *
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!


After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL etc. is limited.


Are you using v20 or v21 firmware, right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
suhrm
post Apr 8 2020, 03:50 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-December 19
Member No.: 861,381



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Apr 7 2020, 05:56 PM) *
QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 7 2020, 05:36 AM) *
QUOTE(LinuxGuy @ Apr 4 2020, 08:23 AM) *
Hi to all

QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM) *
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!


After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL etc. is limited.


Are you using v20 or v21 firmware, right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks


I am running v21.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cam1965
post Apr 8 2020, 03:59 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 28-May 19
Member No.: 848,911



QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 8 2020, 03:50 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Apr 7 2020, 05:56 PM) *
QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 7 2020, 05:36 AM) *
QUOTE(LinuxGuy @ Apr 4 2020, 08:23 AM) *
Hi to all

QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM) *
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!


After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL etc. is limited.


Are you using v20 or v21 firmware, right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks


I am running v21.

Ok. Thank you.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mibry
post Apr 9 2020, 12:49 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 18-May 18
Member No.: 822,788



QUOTE(cam1965 @ Apr 8 2020, 12:59 PM) *
QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 8 2020, 03:50 AM) *
QUOTE(cam1965 @ Apr 7 2020, 05:56 PM) *
QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 7 2020, 05:36 AM) *
QUOTE(LinuxGuy @ Apr 4 2020, 08:23 AM) *
Hi to all

QUOTE(mibry @ Mar 27 2020, 07:57 AM) *
From the telegram group, Cosmo is missing a ofono plugin. So Wont work for now. Hopefully soon.

Well, installed Dialer app, but right, " no network" error. Setting up a broadband-connection in the networkmanager application didnt help either ... any new idea?
Thanks for your advice!


After reading up on android cellular stuff (apparently not the same as interfacing with standalone modems) as well as the reply from milbry I managed to find and configure the modem using good old fashioned AT command through /dev/radio interfaces and even sending and SMS. Now I am trying to see if I can get it working through ofono, however my experience with ofono, Android RIL etc. is limited.


Are you using v20 or v21 firmware, right ?
In v19, I can't see my sim card.
Thanks


I am running v21.

Ok. Thank you.


Are you making progress?

The next thing that will need to be looked at is power saving when closing the lid like on the gemini.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Piece_Maker
post Apr 14 2020, 02:18 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 22-June 19
Member No.: 850,533



Which /dev/radio interface did you use? I've tried a few so far with no luck. I'm just using minicom though so not sure if I'm doing it wrong!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
suhrm
post Apr 15 2020, 10:36 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-December 19
Member No.: 861,381



QUOTE(Piece_Maker @ Apr 14 2020, 11:18 PM) *
Which /dev/radio interface did you use? I've tried a few so far with no luck. I'm just using minicom though so not sure if I'm doing it wrong!

There the multiple different file discriptors each correspond to the some function for the 2 different UEs? (Is this modem true multi-UE or Mux'ed?) in the cosmo (1 per modem). the /dev/radio/acti1 is the first modem is atci1 and the second acti2. I have tried to use minicom as well but there seams to be some issue with the terminal-setup on the cosmo. Instead I used the echo and cat in two different terminals.

A few different references https://comsecuris.com/blog/posts/path_of_least_resistance/ and https://github.com/CellularPrivacy/Android-...ctor/issues/199

Also to answer milbry's question: I have been busy with my regular work and there have limited time to progress/investigate, however, I did do a dump of the modem setup process in android using logcat -b radio to understand how the process of the modem setup occurs as this basically to my understanding need be replicated by the RIL driver/plugin for ofono (the android-mediatek RIL is still user when booting under linux). From this it is clear that the rild-oem (different for previous media-tek approaches, see https://github.com/rilmodem/ofono) is used for some kind of diagnostic/configuration under android and that the ccmni1 and ccmni2 are the actual ppp data interfaces that are used in android. I have not filtered the dump for private information yet and will therefore not post it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mibry
post Apr 21 2020, 05:25 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 18-May 18
Member No.: 822,788



QUOTE(suhrm @ Apr 15 2020, 07:36 PM) *
QUOTE(Piece_Maker @ Apr 14 2020, 11:18 PM) *
Which /dev/radio interface did you use? I've tried a few so far with no luck. I'm just using minicom though so not sure if I'm doing it wrong!

There the multiple different file discriptors each correspond to the some function for the 2 different UEs? (Is this modem true multi-UE or Mux'ed?) in the cosmo (1 per modem). the /dev/radio/acti1 is the first modem is atci1 and the second acti2. I have tried to use minicom as well but there seams to be some issue with the terminal-setup on the cosmo. Instead I used the echo and cat in two different terminals.

A few different references https://comsecuris.com/blog/posts/path_of_least_resistance/ and https://github.com/CellularPrivacy/Android-...ctor/issues/199

Also to answer milbry's question: I have been busy with my regular work and there have limited time to progress/investigate, however, I did do a dump of the modem setup process in android using logcat -b radio to understand how the process of the modem setup occurs as this basically to my understanding need be replicated by the RIL driver/plugin for ofono (the android-mediatek RIL is still user when booting under linux). From this it is clear that the rild-oem (different for previous media-tek approaches, see https://github.com/rilmodem/ofono) is used for some kind of diagnostic/configuration under android and that the ccmni1 and ccmni2 are the actual ppp data interfaces that are used in android. I have not filtered the dump for private information yet and will therefore not post it.

Thanks for the update.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
irukandji
post May 14 2020, 11:36 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-September 19
Member No.: 855,730



Looks like it is happening... Update from plantpc

QUOTE
Linux Update

We have not updated you on Linux for a while, but we have also been working in the background on some features.

We are working on the following features:

* Suspend and Resume - on open / close

* Initial Voice Call telephony support

Both have now been implemented and are being tested.

More from us this week...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th May 2020 - 02:44 PM