OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> pdaxrom & VLC
alan
post May 23 2004, 12:52 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



Has anyone tried (and successed in) running VLC on pdaxrom?

should i install the ipk version (with dependants) or is it only for qtopia?

otherwise, can anyone compile it, _please_! I would like to do it by myself, but i am still in my newbie phase so...

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreyC
post May 23 2004, 02:22 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 13-February 04
Member No.: 1,851



VLC looks like a huge project. I would try it, but only after one of the pdaXrom developers answer my question about pdaXrom seeming to block incoming traffic in this thread:

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/index.php?n...iewtopic&t=4067

Otherwise, even after VLC is compiled for pdaXrom it could still be useless (the client would not be able to accept the video stream from your VLC server).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Aug 16 2004, 01:19 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



Dear pdaxrom team : will this be fixed in the new version?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Aug 16 2004, 01:22 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



There has been a little look into it right now - i will ask sash tomorrow and try to make if up priority..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Nov 2 2004, 05:47 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



i know this is quite an old post, but i would still like to use VLC on my z...

As batischlear said once that the familiar version worked i tried it on RC5, but it doesn't... Neither does the Yopy version, "undefined symbol : __umodsi3"...

So i gues this means vlc needs cross compilation. And here is my pb : every time i try to cross compile something, the compiler complains about missing libraries... It once complained about missing sdl, now it is
CODE
configure: error: Missing header file ffmpeg/avcodec.h

or missing dvdcss...

I understand those libraries are not present in the cross compiler, but i don't know how to add them, and pdaxrom team won't have time to write a complete tutorial untill final 1.1 is out...

Can you please guys cross compile this for me, or, if you have plenty of free time, could anyon explain me how cross compilation work ? I can't contribute to pdaxrom if i even can't compile anything !!!

Thanks to those who will answer this...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pgas
post Nov 2 2004, 05:58 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,097
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 1,210



edit forget my post!!
(I've been reading vnc not vlc)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ViV
post Nov 2 2004, 07:16 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 27-June 04
From: Russia
Member No.: 3,838



QUOTE(Laze @ Aug 16 2004, 01:22 PM)
i will ask sash tomorrow and try to make if up priority..

I hope Ratoc USB Host will be on top of the list. biggrin.gif

(of course, other users want their problems to have highest priority too smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Nov 2 2004, 07:47 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



lol !!

the point is tha tit may have been solved but i can't check it out ! hellllllppp !!!!

PS : About rastoc : i'm sure it will work... someday...

Cheer up tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakeyez
post Nov 2 2004, 08:14 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 5-June 04
Member No.: 3,580



alan:

Cross compiling is not much different that compiling for your own host. The only difference is that the compiler generates assembly code for a different instruction set (architecture) - in this case, ARM. In doing so, it needs to link against libraries that are also compiled for this same architecture, that's why you can't just use the libraries that are normally on your machine (I'm assuming an x86-based build machine).

In order to 'get those libraries into the cross-compile environment', you need to cross-compile them as well.

Have you ever compiled packages from sources for your own machine (not cross-compiling)? Without that kind of experience, just saying "cross-compile this program" can be a lot more difficult and frustrating than it sounds. Sometimes it works out that it's a simple ./configure, make, make install process. However, for most packages which are not maintained for, nor were they necessarily DESIGNED for, cross compilation, the process can be a little frustrating, and require quite a bit of skill at 'reverse engineering' C code to force it to build (on top of the auto-foo tools which can cause other problems themselves).

Not trying to discourage you at all, just saying how it is smile.gif If you're willing to experiment and learn, though, I'm sure that both myself and others would be willing to give you a hand when you have troubles.

Dave
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pgas
post Nov 2 2004, 08:43 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,097
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 1,210



Well said blakeyes, I would also say that some programs can't be or not easily completely cross builded, for instance xemacs or some interpretors first compile a small executable that is then run to build other things.

There is also the option to use the native sdk, and if you have little storage space to mount an nfs partition and compile on your desktop pc.

With the native sdk you won't run into the problems exposed by bakeyes BUT
you might need some tools that generally exist on a desktop pc but are not present on the zaurus (ie perl, getopt etc etc...)

So in all cases a bit of reading about makefiles (to skip the some part
like building the documentation) gcc options (like how to tells the comiler to include some files) etc... helps.

Also read the INSTALL instructions and look at the options provided by
' ./configure --help' helps
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Nov 2 2004, 08:55 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



thanks blakeyez ! I didn't know libraries had to be compiled too. I thought it was necessary only for executables.

I did compile a few apps for my mandrake, but i admitt it was just a matter of .configure&&make&&make install so, i can't say i'm an advanced user...

Someday i will have some time to get into this kind of studies, but not for now. So i depend on you, gentlemen...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakeyez
post Nov 2 2004, 10:29 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 5-June 04
Member No.: 3,580



Yeah the native build environment definitely helps in some situations, but in others it won't do much. For example, trying to make OpenTTD work (a reverse-engineered Transport Tycoon 'clone'), there were some subtleties involved in the ARM architecture related to structs and alignment that caused some problems in what looked to be a perfectly-compiled executable.

As for libraries, they are 'essentially' the same thing as executables, except that they are not DIRECTLY executable. Usually with shared dynamic libraries (.so files), they are dynamically 'inserted' into your actual executable at run-time instead of compile-time, so one would THINK that maybe you wouldn't need cross-compiled versions at compile-time. However, the linker still needs to match up symbols, etc, so you do in fact need them available beforehand.

If you know C at all (even some basic syntax and have a mind that can 'deduce' the function of various commands, etc), and take a little time to study the various documentation for Makefiles and the autotools (autoconf, automake, autoheader, etc), it makes life a lot easier... Just a place to start when/if you're interested smile.gif

Dave
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Feb 15 2005, 05:51 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



argh...

VLC worked just fine untill now, but in RC9, i have no GUI anymore... from the command line, a remote control interfae is directly launched...

Why is that ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pgas
post Feb 15 2005, 06:05 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,097
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 1,210



Cs_jacky has put a vxwidget ipk in the unstable feed saying

QUOTE
You can find the same package in current feed of RC9. However, it built on GTK 2.6 and failed to run in the ROM (which has GTK 2.4 installed). This package is built for GTK 2.4.0


IIRC vlc uses wxwindow for the gui, so this might be why.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post Feb 15 2005, 07:16 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



thanks pgas.

Flashing RC9.1 solved the pb.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th February 2020 - 01:04 PM