OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Still on V19 & can't update Magisk via Magisk Mgr (20.3 to 20.4)...
360North
post Apr 22 2020, 10:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-April 20
Member No.: 868,378



Hey everyone,

Granted I am learning as I go here w/ Cosmo and Android & Linux, with regard to rooting and such.

So...not sure if I missed something or maybe I am misunderstanding something regarding Magisk on rooted Android for Cosmo.

I followed all of Planet's instructions for partitioning and loading Rooted Android, TWRP, and Linux on my Cosmo.

Everything seems to be working OK as far I can I tell (on WiFi anyway, given known issues with SIM's on V19)...except for the following...

- If I attempt to boot into TWRP partition to access TWRP, I get a black screen...so nothing accessible there.

- I can boot into Rooted Android & Magisk shows as "rooted" successfully...however, the v20.4 Update is available, yet won't complete installation.

(Allow me to clarify the Magisk part...Magisk Mgr is v7.5.1 (and up to date), Magisk is v20.3 (w/ v20.4 available as Update)...I have it run the v20.4 Update as "Direct Install", then it asks to reboot at end...I've tried rebooting into both Rooted & Stock Android partitions at the end of Install...but when I go back into Magisk Mgr, still shows v20.3...nothing has changed.)

I have researched for guidelines about this, but have found nothing...am I installing it using wrong method, is there a known bug in Cosmo V19 about it, or does the fact I can't boot into TWRP partition have something to do with it??

How do I update Magisk correctly...also, how do I fix my TWRP issue??

BTW...I am holding out for Cosmo V22 (assuming no major issues w/ V22)...also, pledged for Astro Slide whenever it arrives in 2021.

Also...have a MacBook Pro (Mojave) and a 2017 Surface Pro tablet (Win10) for desktop tools...if needed to fix this.

If you need more info...ask away!!

Any guidance is appreciated...thanks in advance!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vistaus
post Apr 22 2020, 01:41 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 24-June 19
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 850,627



Magisk won't update for me either and TWRP also doesn't work. Hope someone can give us a solution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
360North
post Apr 27 2020, 12:09 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-April 20
Member No.: 868,378



Guessing either we are the only 2 Users experiencing this issue, or nobody else out there cares to comment on it.

So much for help and guidance on here. ¯\_(?)_/¯
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 27 2020, 01:06 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,727
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(360North @ Apr 27 2020, 01:09 PM) *
Guessing either we are the only 2 Users experiencing this issue, or nobody else out there cares to comment on it.

So much for help and guidance on here. ¯\_(?)_/¯


Or maybe not many people have gone the rooted approach as of now....

I did on my Gemini...but not on my Cosmo....so, can't be of help.

Hopefully, there will be others who will notice this thread and help you.

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vistaus
post Apr 27 2020, 01:11 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 24-June 19
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 850,627



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 27 2020, 11:06 PM) *
QUOTE(360North @ Apr 27 2020, 01:09 PM) *
Guessing either we are the only 2 Users experiencing this issue, or nobody else out there cares to comment on it.

So much for help and guidance on here. ¯\_(?)_/¯


Or maybe not many people have gone the rooted approach as of now....

I did on my Gemini...but not on my Cosmo....so, can't be of help.

Hopefully, there will be others who will notice this thread and help you.

Mark


Either that, or they've rooted the unofficial way.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noppe
post Apr 28 2020, 03:04 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 30-January 20
Member No.: 864,802



QUOTE(360North @ Apr 27 2020, 11:09 PM) *
Guessing either we are the only 2 Users experiencing this issue, or nobody else out there cares to comment on it.


I also have the same problem. Just wanted to give others an opportunity to post a solution, instead of just posting a "me too". I haven't had the time to look into solving the problem myself yet.

QUOTE
So much for help and guidance on here. ¯\_(?)_/¯


Now, now...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
360North
post Apr 29 2020, 11:05 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-April 20
Member No.: 868,378



So finally had some time to sit down & dive into the Cosmo more, including the Linux partition as well.

While it may boot into Linux & work to some extent...there are definitely issues with Linux as well.

Such as...there are things missing from the System Settings menu of KDE and what not.

I’m hoping that whatever Planet is working on for an update Cosmo-wide, will fix a lot of these issues in v22.

Have to wait & see, I guess ¯\_(?)_/¯
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2020 - 02:23 PM