OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> How To Bring Up Wlan0 Via Command-line?
misha
post Aug 9 2008, 06:26 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 9-October 07
Member No.: 20,805



Hi all,

I've got a Zaurus CL-3200, using AmbiCom WL1100C-CF PCMCIA wireless card.

I'm trying to bring up wlan0 via the command-line (yeah, there's a GUI tool to do it, but I'm curious). I can connect to the wireless AP at home (sometimes).

I see the card details in dmesg after I insert it into the slot and cardctl status lists the card at socket 0. It's in suspended mode. So far so good.

I'm assuming that to get the card up I need to unsuspend it. cardctl resume prints "ioctl(): Device or resource busy", but I'm assuming that's from the built-in microdrive, which is sitting at socket 1. cardctl resume 0 doesn't print anything and seems to succeed. cardctl status shows the card in a suspended state, however. Can anyone explain why this is so?

At this stage I still can't do anything wireless-related to the card as wlan0 still doesn't exist (it isn't reported by ifconfig). Ifconfig wlan0 up prints "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device".

Can someone fill me in?

Cheers,
Misha
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
sdjf
post Aug 11 2008, 11:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



You also might want to read the following thread started by someone else wanting to start a connection via the command line using wireless on a C3100:

http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=21828

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
misha
post Aug 21 2008, 06:35 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 9-October 07
Member No.: 20,805



sdjf,

Thank you for your reply. Sorry it took me so long to follow up on it -- been rather busy with other adventures.

Unfortunately, I'm unable to tell you exactly which ROM I am using -- the device reports the version as --.-- JP. It is some Sharp ROM, though, with a 2.4.20 kernel. I remember flashing this ROM a while ago from a third-party rescue guide. I can't seem to find the original "genuine" ROM from Sharp anywhere these days -- if you happen to know where I can get it, then I'd be happy to use it instead.

I've had a look at the link you suggested. First off, qreset seems like it may be useful for me, so here is the output of the commands you ask for (at http://sdjf.esmartdesign.com/scripts/qresetinfo.html):

online (both stdout and stderr):

CODE
-rwxrwxr-x    1 root     root        89312 Jan 14  2006 /bin/ps
SL-C3200
unknown
SHARP
Processor    : XScale-PXA270 rev 7 (v5l)
BogoMIPS    : 415.33
Features    : swp half thumb fastmult edsp
CPU implementor    : 0x69
CPU architecture: 5TE
CPU variant    : 0x0
CPU part    : 0x411
CPU revision    : 7
Cache type    : undefined 5
Cache clean    : undefined 5
Cache lockdown    : undefined 5
Cache unified    : harvard
I size        : 32768
I assoc        : 32
I line length    : 32
I sets        : 32
D size        : 32768
D assoc        : 32
D line length    : 32
D sets        : 32

Hardware    : SHARP Terrier
Revision    : 0000
Serial        : 0000000000000000
2.4.20
Linux version 2.4.20 (yasui@iwamoto-del) (gcc version 2.95.2 19991024 (release)) #1 Sat, 23 Jun 2007 10:15:37 +0900
==> /var/lock/samba <==
head: /var/lock/samba: Is a directory

==> /var/lock/subsys <==
head: /var/lock/subsys: Is a directory
#local2.*                                                /dev/console
local2.*                                                /tmp/qpe-pppd-log
#local7.*                        /var/log/boot.log
15624 ttya0    SN     0:01 -bash
30738 ttya1    SN     0:01 -bash
12319 ttya1    SN     0:00 bash online.sh
12327 ttya1    RN     0:00 ps ax
12328 ttya1    SN     0:00 grep tty
-bash: /dev/ttya0
-bash: /dev/ttya0
-bash: /dev/ttya0
-bash: /dev/ttya0
-bash: /dev/ttya1
-bash: /dev/ttya1
-bash: /dev/ttya1
-bash: /dev/ttya1
bashonline.sh: /dev/ttya1


offline:

CODE
15624 ttya0    SN     0:01 -bash
30738 ttya1    SN     0:01 -bash
12813 ttya1    SN     0:00 bash offline.sh
12814 ttya1    RN     0:00 ps ax
12815 ttya1    SN     0:00 grep tty


If it looks like I might benefit from using it, I'm happy to take qreset for a test drive.

Now, for the suggested links. While it technically does bring up the network through the command line, it does this through qcop, which isn't exactly what I was after.

I was hoping for a sequence of separate commands that would achieve the following:

1) Activate wlan0 (so that it appears in ifconfig)
2) Attempt to associate to an access point
3) Disassociate

The reason I'm after all this is I'm diagnosing a problem with the LAN card. Sometimes it just doesn't associate. I'm not sure where the problem is (driver, card, the actual Zaurus), but I have to go through an elaborate witch dance of yanking the card and putting it back in to get things going sometimes. At other times it works immediately, like a charm.

Dmesg complains of frames being dropped due to them being transmitted prior to association, but this seems to happen regardless of whether or not the card eventually manages to associate successfully.

Looking forward to hearing more about qreset.

Cheers,
Misha
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 04:47 AM