OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | #planetgemini chat on matrix.org | #gemini-pda chat on Freenode | #zaurus and #alarmz chat on Freenode | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> V21 firmware
TomJ
post Mar 30 2020, 03:33 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 2-January 20
Member No.: 862,685



Having rushed in to install v20, I installed the v21 to get the fixes. Unfortunately now I don't seem to have mobile data. Also, I can't work out how to persuade it to restore my device backup from Google Drive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rosie
post Mar 30 2020, 05:26 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 5-January 18
From: Cymru
Member No.: 815,862



QUOTE(TomJ @ Mar 30 2020, 12:33 PM) *
Having rushed in to install v20, I installed the v21 to get the fixes. Unfortunately now I don't seem to have mobile data. Also, I can't work out how to persuade it to restore my device backup from Google Drive.


Ah. That is EXACTLY the comment I was looking for. Same issue here and not found a fix for it yet I'm afraid. I've double checked the APN settings and generally fiddled around with the APN type parameter. Usual series of changes and reboots but my Cosmo is resolutely sulking at the world.

Does anyone else have this issue?

Rosie
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PNuT
post Mar 30 2020, 05:54 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 6-December 19
Member No.: 860,784



I have mobile data on both my sims....

wifi was a bit iffy after I reset it.

cannot seem to get auto rotate to work at all now though....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TomJ
post Mar 30 2020, 06:16 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 2-January 20
Member No.: 862,685



@PNuT Did you upgrade via v20?

I've just tried restarting, then turning off and back on; no joy. Tapping the button in quick settings gets the tap acknowlegment but no colour change. In settings there's a Mobile data is off prompt; tapping turn on makes it disappear for a few seconds, when it returns. I've emailled hello@planetcom.co.uk to ask about it; it would probably help if others with the same problem did the same.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rosie
post Mar 30 2020, 06:21 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 5-January 18
From: Cymru
Member No.: 815,862



QUOTE(TomJ @ Mar 30 2020, 03:16 PM) *
@PNuT Did you upgrade via v20?

I've just tried restarting, then turning off and back on; no joy. Tapping the button in quick settings gets the tap acknowlegment but no colour change. In settings there's a Mobile data is off prompt; tapping turn on makes it disappear for a few seconds, when it returns. I've emailled hello@planetcom.co.uk to ask about it; it would probably help if others with the same problem did the same.


Sorted now. Switch the phone off, pop the SIM out, switch the phone on, switch the phone off, pop the SIM back in, switch the phone on. Let your Cosmo pick up the settings from the 'new' SIM.

Rosie
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PNuT
post Mar 30 2020, 06:41 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 6-December 19
Member No.: 860,784



QUOTE(TomJ @ Mar 30 2020, 02:16 PM) *
@PNuT Did you upgrade via v20?


Yes
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom D
post Mar 30 2020, 07:51 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 5-January 18
Member No.: 815,874



QUOTE(Rosie @ Mar 30 2020, 08:21 AM) *
QUOTE(TomJ @ Mar 30 2020, 03:16 PM) *
@PNuT Did you upgrade via v20?

I've just tried restarting, then turning off and back on; no joy. Tapping the button in quick settings gets the tap acknowlegment but no colour change. In settings there's a Mobile data is off prompt; tapping turn on makes it disappear for a few seconds, when it returns. I've emailled hello@planetcom.co.uk to ask about it; it would probably help if others with the same problem did the same.


Sorted now. Switch the phone off, pop the SIM out, switch the phone on, switch the phone off, pop the SIM back in, switch the phone on. Let your Cosmo pick up the settings from the 'new' SIM.

Rosie


A common "feature" of the Cosmo is that often you need to restart the phone if you have made a setting change.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vistaus
post Mar 30 2020, 08:28 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 24-June 19
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 850,627



QUOTE(Tom D @ Mar 30 2020, 05:51 PM) *
QUOTE(Rosie @ Mar 30 2020, 08:21 AM) *
QUOTE(TomJ @ Mar 30 2020, 03:16 PM) *
@PNuT Did you upgrade via v20?

I've just tried restarting, then turning off and back on; no joy. Tapping the button in quick settings gets the tap acknowlegment but no colour change. In settings there's a Mobile data is off prompt; tapping turn on makes it disappear for a few seconds, when it returns. I've emailled hello@planetcom.co.uk to ask about it; it would probably help if others with the same problem did the same.


Sorted now. Switch the phone off, pop the SIM out, switch the phone on, switch the phone off, pop the SIM back in, switch the phone on. Let your Cosmo pick up the settings from the 'new' SIM.

Rosie


A common "feature" of the Cosmo is that often you need to restart the phone if you have made a setting change.


Not in my experience.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TomJ
post Mar 30 2020, 09:23 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 2-January 20
Member No.: 862,685



QUOTE(Rosie @ Mar 30 2020, 06:21 AM) *
QUOTE(TomJ @ Mar 30 2020, 03:16 PM) *

I've just tried restarting, then turning off and back on; no joy. Tapping the button in quick settings gets the tap acknowlegment but no colour change. In settings there's a Mobile data is off prompt; tapping turn on makes it disappear for a few seconds, when it returns. I've emailled hello@planetcom.co.uk to ask about it; it would probably help if others with the same problem did the same.


Sorted now. Switch the phone off, pop the SIM out, switch the phone on, switch the phone off, pop the SIM back in, switch the phone on. Let your Cosmo pick up the settings from the 'new' SIM.

Rosie



Boom, sorted. Many thanks Rosie.

Now to the second part of the puzzle, arguably more of my own making: having backed up to Google Drive via Settings - System - Backup, how do I restore? The Cosmo's new startup procedure doesn't seem to have ask to restore a backup.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kamikaze Comet
post Mar 30 2020, 06:12 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 10-March 20
Member No.: 866,807



QUOTE(PNuT @ Mar 30 2020, 08:54 AM) *
I have mobile data on both my sims....

wifi was a bit iffy after I reset it.

cannot seem to get auto rotate to work at all now though....


Wait, this phone actually should have auto rotate? I have never made it work. I thought it doesn't have this feature.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PNuT
post Mar 30 2020, 06:35 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 6-December 19
Member No.: 860,784



QUOTE(Kamikaze Comet @ Mar 31 2020, 02:12 AM) *
QUOTE(PNuT @ Mar 30 2020, 08:54 AM) *
I have mobile data on both my sims....

wifi was a bit iffy after I reset it.

cannot seem to get auto rotate to work at all now though....


Wait, this phone actually should have auto rotate? I have never made it work. I thought it doesn't have this feature.


Yes, I found out why it wasn't working! it has two different settings for it.

1 display- advanced-auto rotate screen

2 app bar-planet-app bar-settings(next to selectable apps)-uncheck force

& hey presto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Isurus65
post Mar 30 2020, 10:52 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 12-May 18
From: Singapore
Member No.: 822,503



Just updated to V21 following Planet Computer instructions after fingerprints failed to work on V20.

I noticed that Android Security Update is now 5 July 2019. I thought V20 had a more recent security update, but I can't remember now.

Fingerprint error seems to be fixed, but every time I open the Cosmo after it has gone into sleep mode (closing cover) for a few minutes, I find that the system has either shut down or rebooted.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clasqm
post Mar 31 2020, 06:36 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-January 20
From: Pretoria, South Africa
Member No.: 864,803



QUOTE(PNuT @ Mar 31 2020, 04:35 AM) *
Yes, I found out why it wasn't working! it has two different settings for it.

1 display- advanced-auto rotate screen

2 app bar-planet-app bar-settings(next to selectable apps)-uncheck force

& hey presto


Also, there is Home Settings - Allow Homescreen rotation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JDM957
post Mar 31 2020, 08:06 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-March 20
Member No.: 867,779



QUOTE(Isurus65 @ Mar 31 2020, 03:52 PM) *
Just updated to V21 following Planet Computer instructions after fingerprints failed to work on V20.

I noticed that Android Security Update is now 5 July 2019. I thought V20 had a more recent security update, but I can't remember now.

Fingerprint error seems to be fixed, but every time I open the Cosmo after it has gone into sleep mode (closing cover) for a few minutes, I find that the system has either shut down or rebooted.


Still running V20 here and I can confirm that the security patch level is:
January 5, 2020
on mine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyControl
post Mar 31 2020, 10:00 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 18-August 18
Member No.: 828,569



QUOTE(Rosie @ Mar 31 2020, 03:21 AM) *
Sorted now. Switch the phone off, pop the SIM out, switch the phone on, switch the phone off, pop the SIM back in, switch the phone on. Let your Cosmo pick up the settings from the 'new' SIM.

Rosie

I think I saw this problem myself, and I think I managed to fix it by randomly crashing around in 'settings/network-&-internet/mobile-network' and 'settings/network-&-internet/SIM-cards' and 'something/something/something' turning things off and on while occasionally cycling the power, and then moving onto something else entirely before I made a note of what I did.
I think I prefer your method.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 7th June 2020 - 01:25 AM